Je ne sais pas

“I don’t know” but I like it!

“Je ne parle pas français ” was my go-to phrase in France. I don’t speak French, I’m sorry.

A bit of a late post from last week in France. I was visiting my roommates from UCSB who study in Lyon. Really an underrated European city because it has so much life. Still with it’s touch of the past and the countryside but with a fresh urban feel of the city life. One roommate lived with her family just outside the city in the county side where we enjoyed great homemade waffles from her grandfather, foie gras, champagne, and a spontaneous adventure! Something I NEVER imagined, we went off roading in the woods with the family after dinner. In the dark, standing in the back of the land rover, with my GoPro holding on for my dear life that I wouldn’t hurt myself before Spain! …but I like these sorts of spontaneous adventures and the adrenaline rush of it all. This was a great memory for the books. Off roading in the country side of Lyon to the top to a view of the entire city lit up. Priceless !!
(Hopefully I am able to upload the video later)

I wish I had more time in the city but my journey took me to Moulin, in the center of France to visit the home of my other roommate. It’s really a different experience being able to travel to homes instead of hotels and seeing the city or country through the eyes of the people who actually live there. After 9months together in Santa Barbara I couldn’t wait to visit and finally see her life at home that I heard jso much about. I met her friends, cooked great meals together, visited the Château de Chenonceau, and tasted a bottle of 1995 Médoc Bordeaux!!! And did I mention the great meals? So kind of her family to offer there home to me but prepare a beautiful and classy dinner on the day of our arrival. Lamb, wine, cheeses, and dessert…this month had no diet restrictions. I’m a foodie. I love food and I can’t help but to want to try everything that is offered to me. But nothing will beat the duck “salad” i had at the famous Le Grand Café where Coco Channel became Coco Channel. (Check out my ‘Exploradora’ board on Pinterest for my own version of trip advisor as I tag new places and you can see on the map).

I’m sure I will return to Lyon sometime during the year when they have their apartments in Lyon, this was only just a taste. But first, I’ll be expecting my friends in Madrid !

Au revoir for now.

IMG_4551.JPG

IMG_4349.JPG

IMG_4574.JPG

IMG_4375.JPG

IMG_4553.JPG

Leave a comment